Scams Awareness Network

The Scams Awareness Network (SAN), formerly the Australasian Consumer Fraud Taskforce, is made up of government regulatory agencies and departments in Australia and New Zealand that work alongside private sector, community and non-government partners to raise awareness about scams and disrupt them.

Purpose of the SAN

Originally formed in 2005, and called the Australasian Consumer Fraud Taskforce (ACFT), the SAN is comprised of government regulatory agencies and departments with responsibility for consumer protection and policing in the areas of scams, cyber safety and fraud.

The core purpose of the SAN is for members to share information about scams regularly and to deliver a coordinated awareness campaign for consumers, the Scams Awareness Week in August each year, which also involves private sector and community partners.

Members of the SAN

The current members of the SAN are:

National agencies

  • Australian Bureau of Statistics
  • Australian Charities and Not-For-Profits Commission
  • Australian Communications and Media Authority
  • Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (Chair)
  • Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission
  • Australian Federal Police
  • Australian Institute of Criminology
  • Australian Securities and Investments Commission
  • Australian Signals Directorate
  • Australian Small Business and Family Enterprise Ombudsman
  • Australian Taxation Office
  • Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications
  • Department of Home Affairs
  • Services Australia
  • Department of Social Services
  • Department of Veterans' Affairs
  • IP Australia
  • National Disability Insurance Agency
  • Office for Women (Department of Prime Minister & Cabinet)
  • Office of the Australian Information Commissioner
  • Office of the eSafety Commissioner

State and territory agencies

  • Access Canberra
  • Consumer Affairs Victoria
  • Consumer and Business Services South Australia
  • Consumer, Building and Occupational Services Tasmania
  • Northern Territory Consumer Affairs
  • Northern Territory Police

  • NSW Fair Trading
  • NSW Police Force
  • Office of the NSW Small Business Commissioner
  • Office of the SA Small Business Commissioner
  • Queensland Office of Fair Trading
  • Queensland Police
  • Victorian Small Business Commission
  • Victoria Police
  • Consumer Protection WA, Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety
  • WA Small Business Development Corporation

New Zealand agencies

  • New Zealand Commerce Commission
  • New Zealand Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

Partners of the SAN

The work of the SAN is assisted by a number of government, business and community group partners. The partners recognise the seriousness and widespread impact of scams and are committed to disseminating the SAN's message to consumers during Scams Awareness Week (previously known as National Consumer Fraud Week).

The SAN's business partners include leading banks and financial institutions, technology companies, online and social media platforms, telecommunications providers and industry associations. Consumer groups, small business groups and other government organisations and industry associations throughout Australia also play a vital role in helping the SAN raise consumer awareness of scams in the community.

More information

Scamwatch role